Nawaz Takes Oath as Pakistan’s PM

Nawaz Takes Oath as Pakistan's PM

Nawaz Takes Oath as Pakistan’s PM

(Islamabad) – In an unprecedented development in Pakistan’s parliamentary history, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) President, Nawaz Sharif was sworn in to become not only the 27th Prime Minister of Pakistan but also the first ever Pakistani politician to assume the office of the country’s chief executive for the third time.
President Asif Ali Zardari administered the oath of the PM’s office to Nawaz Sharif at an impressive ceremony at President’s House. Earlier, Nawaz Sharif secured 244 votes with his rivals Makhdoom Amin Fahim (PPP) and Javed Hashmi (PTI) bagging 42 and 31 votes respectively.
Former prime ministers Yousuf Raza Gilani and Raja Pervaiz Ashraf were among several dignitaries who attended the oath taking ceremony. Chief of Army Staff General Kayani and the three services chiefs were also in attendance.

Posted on Jun 5 2013. Filed under Front, Headlines, International. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Photo Gallery

Copyright © 2011. The Diplomat. All rights reserved | Developed by: ASN tECH WordPress Blog
Wp Advanced Newspaper WordPress Themes Gabfire