International Diplomat Magazine

11th Arab Media Award winners honoured


(Abu Dhabi) – H.H. Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, honoured the winners of the 11th Arab Journalism Awards. Present at the ceremony were H.H. Sheikh Hamdan, Crown Prince of Dubai; H.E. Sheikh Maktoum, Deputy Ruler of Dubai; H.E. Sheikh Abdullah, UAE Foreign Minister, as well as other sheikhs, top officials and dignitaries.
Special awards were given to Laila Rustom, a thought leader in culture and media, and Rafiq Khoury, a prominent journalist in the Arab world. Nasser Mohammed Al Sanousi, Kuwaiti media expert, was chosen as the Media Personality of the Year. The Newspaper Column award was gifted to Dr Badriah Al Beshr, Assistant Professor at Al Jazeera University in the UAE.
Other winners honoured include: Investigative Reporting: Ali Zalat and Mohammed Al Kholy from Masry Al Youm newspaper, Economic Journalism: Omar Khalil Azabi from Emarat Al Youm, Political Journalism: Salah Salem for his work published in Al Ahram newspaper, Cultural Criticism: Ahmed Nagy Ahmed from the Egyptian newspaper Akhbar Al Adab, Specialised Journalism: Abdulla Abdul-Rahman from the UAE-based magazine Al Dhafra, Press Interviews Journalism: Walid Al Tayeb from the Islam Online Community, Sports Journalism: Ali Shadhan from Al Bayan, Photo Journalism: Ahmed El Masry from the Egyptian newspaper Al Masry Al Youm, Outstanding Cartoon Works: Maher Rashwan from the Kuwaiti newspaper Al Jareedah, Young Talent Journalism: Saeed Khatibi from Qatar magazine Al Doha, Mohammed Mahala from the Moroccan magazine Awal and Sayed Ismail from Palestine.